The Brutality of Social Media

Social media can be absolutely brutal, Twitter especially. It’s not that people are lying in wait for others to tweet something stupid, or hurtful; it’s just that when someone does just that, it doesn’t take long to get piled on.

I’ve written about this before, and I still wonder what people just don’t get.

Sometimes it’s just in fun, a sarcastic reply to a tweet that was made. Other times, based on the original tweet, in seconds that tweet can go viral and the originator is assaulted with replies to the extent that it’s impossible to keep up with what’s being said.

With Twitter, sometimes it’s very difficult to be concise in a 140 character tweet. If I’m tweeting something I believe may be of interest to others, I’ve learned to be careful in the wording. It doesn’t take much for someone to take offense, even if that was not my intention. Then, mostly, I can’t please everyone and it comes down to just that fact alone.

Take the recent kerfuffle with a certain person that works for CFI. Now, to be fair, I don’t believe she had any intent of causing the viral storm that eventually came from a few seemingly harmless tweets (from her perspective). The easiest thing to do in my opinion would to just have let it go and move on to something else. But no, she had to double down and of course, all that does it make things worse.

Friends try to come to the rescue, while (some) detractors become even viler. That’s the nature of the medium though. I just don’t understand why people don’t get how this works. Hell, I’ve only been on Twitter for a couple of years and I get it. I’ve made some tweets that were fairly stupid when I look back on it and yes, received some blunt replies. I moved on. At that point, the small fire I lit is extinguished fairly rapidly.

We all do this at one time or another. Some people I think thrive on making outrageous comments just so they can further their “victimhood” agenda. “See, they’re all [pick your favorite adjective]”. At this point, instead of the rest of the Twitter community, and in this case the skeptics/atheists responding, we should all start ignoring the fabricators of drama. Sooner or later they will go away, pick more productive subjects, or find another way to enhance their victim status.

Leave a Reply

