But…She’s a Republican!

I don’t understand why some people believe that Edwina Rogers’ political affiliation had anything to do with her sudden departure from the SCA.

Its baffling to me, but then I really think I can wrap my mind around it because most of the people that are writing about the embezzlement incident and the departure mainly focus on one thing: She’s a Republican.

What does that have to do with anything? Let’s get something straight and try and move on: Even the SCA praised her in their statement as taking the SCA from a two state operation to organizing in all 50 states. In two years. Not bad. I bet there’s a lot of other organizations out there that would like to have a talent like that – Republican or Democrat.

One blog post I read intimated that even though Ms. Rogers was the one to report the theft, that somehow she still might be responsible, because, yep, you guessed it.

If you base all of your personal affiliations based on someones political ideology, you’re going to spend your life in an echo chamber.

It’s drama blogging, pure and simple. Trying to stir up a controversy where none exists. Some people need to grow up.

2 thoughts on “But…She’s a Republican!

  1. Maybe her political affiliation had something to do with her sudden departure in that some of those responsible for it were never comfortable with it. I hope this isn’t the case, but I do remember seeing a fair amount of anger in the online atheist community over her initial hiring. Some did not want to give her a chance because of her political affiliation.

    It seems to me that several atheists are eager to trade the tribalism of religion for a non-religious alternative.

    Like

    • I hope as well that isn’t the case. I can see a difference of opinion as to objectives, but the lady literally placed the SCA on the landscape.

      Like

Leave a Reply

