Walking The Walk

A lot of people I know or interact with online talk about the need to make a difference in our local communities. How many actually do something though?

I’m not referring to marching, or protesting at city council; instead what do you do as an individual or a group if you belong to one, to help others?

Too many of us believe that when we give money to [ insert your favorite organization here] that we’ve made a difference. Well, in a way, yes, we’ve helped to make a difference but all that means is that we’ve written a check, or made a Paypal donation. Others, at that organization, are actually doing the work.

Is there a cause in your community that not only you can donate to but also volunteer? A few hours a week can make a difference. I not only donate to my local food bank, but volunteer 4 hours a week to unload trucks, stock shelves, hell even sweep the floor. It’s not much, but it does make me believe that in a small way, I’m making a difference in someone else’s life.

Notice it’s not a lot that I do and I’m not setting myself up as being better than others. Instead of just donating money, I’m involved in a small way and am able to actually witness the changes, however small, I help make.

Do you have 2 or 4 hours a week to donate to your favorite cause? Can you sort mail or stock shelves, help with the books, or something else that in the long term, and maybe in the short, is going to change lives?

Or is it that you’re okay with just complaining about the problems in your city or town online.

Leave a Reply

