A Con Exposed

I’m sure most of you are already aware of Dr. Oz’s appearance before congress yesterday and that he was excoriated by members of a Senate panel.

There were a lot of tweets in my timeline and there are probably other skeptical blogs that have written about his testimony. I thought I’d quickly throw my two cents into the mix.

Finally! This “Dr.” (and yes, unfortunately he is an M.D.) has eluded criticism for years in promoting various forms of woo. He has participated in duping millions to buy “miracle cures” and magic pills for losing weight.

You may or may not know that he promotes these kinds of things on a daily talk show. I’ve only seen the show a couple of times over the past few years but always asked, “This guy is an M.D.?”.

The best quote to me is actually from Senator Claire McCaskill who stated quite bluntly:

“I get that you do a lot of good on your show,” McCaskill told Oz, but “I don’t get why you need to say this stuff because you know it’s not true.”

Slam!

A quack exposed. Now if we could just get the same exposure for chiropractic loons and acupuncturists.

Leave a Reply

