Preaching to the Choir

As a skeptic, do you ever wonder if there’s anyone out there listening?

I do. All the time.

i wonder if anything I write here reaches anyone. I don’t worry about it, it‘s just something I think about.

Well, after really spending a few brain cells on this, I’m going to go out there and say “no one”.

By that I’m not referring to you. Hell, if you’re a regular reader, you’re here everyday. I’m referring to those that don’t identify as skeptics or atheists. I’m fairly certain that there’s no one out there that doesn’t identify as the above in some way reads this blog.

So what good does it do? Really. The object of any kind of media is to reach and attempt to inform. How well do we do that?

There’s hundreds (thousands?) of blogs out there that discuss atheism and skepticism. There are podcasts and video-casts. Who are the readers, listeners, and viewers?

Well, it’s pretty simple. We are.

What are we doing to attract others to the cause of rational thinking? I know that you know of, as I do, people that are not skeptics. Some are just afraid to go against the grain. Yes, afraid.

They’re worried about being some sort of outcast. They’re afraid of losing friends or family members because they won’t step up and call stupidity when it’s apparent.

So, I ask again: Who are we talking to? Maybe it’s time to get out of our “conferences” and “meetings” and start speaking to those outside.

Let’s stop preaching to the choir.

Leave a Reply

