Calling Out The Stupid

I guess I’m one of the only ones that will call out when it’s necessary.

I don’t really like “drama blogging”, but when people start propagating the stupid, I have to respond.

What I don’t understand is why there are so few of us that will call them out? What’s the problem with identifying and responding to ludicrous posts/ideas? Is it a fear of being mentioned?

Personally, I like it when I happen to get a “misogynist”, or “harasser” mention. Those make me think that I’m actually making some sort of difference. When the stupid read here, and then mention, and deride me, call me names, I think I must be doing something right.

We all, as skeptics, need to start and then keep calling out the stupid; even those that call themselves “skeptics”. It’s the only way we’re going to be able to weed out ideologies.

Let’s all put aside our individual ideologies and start applying skepticism to those blogs and articles we read. Point out the stupid enough and eventually it will disappear.

2 thoughts on “Calling Out The Stupid

  1. I think you’ve hit on a real problem here. Why don’t people call out the stupid? For some, I suspect it is simple conflict avoidance. They are not comfortable with conflict and go out of their way to avoid it. For others, it may be more about fear of certain labels. We generally don’t like being called racists or misogynists even if we know the accusations are baseless. We worry about what others who don’t know us might think. And for still others – probably the majority – they just hope the stupid will go away on its own if we ignore it. I’m sure thee are more reasons than these, but these were among the first to come to mind.

    Like

Leave a Reply

