Obsessive Behavior About Another. A Disorder?

Is being obsessive about another person a disorder? I’m neither a psychologist or psychiatrist but it appears that way to me.

Just asking because it appears that one of The Usual Suspects cannot help but be. I recently wrote about her apparent obsessiveness with Dr. Christina Hoff Sommers and now it appears she’s following the same psychological tendency with Sam Harris.

A few days ago Sam Harris tweeted:

I viewed that as innocuous. He’s looking for others to send him examples/stories of political correctness run amok. I’m certain there are many of us that would be able to regale him with our personal experiences.

For some, I guess it makes their head explode because over the past few days, she’s written 3 posts about it; here, here, and here.

Now I know there’s no love of Sam Harris with The Usual Suspects, but they seem to want to spend every waking moment attempting to find a reason to tear him down, just as they do with Professor Dawkins.

Doesn’t Le Grande Dame always complain about cyber harassment and stalking? Well, isn’t this the same thing? Sure, you might say I’m doing the same thing, but I don’t write about her just to construct a post.

I write about her when she makes outrageous accusations against others that cannot be substantiated or in this case, with her obvious preoccupation with other people that she happens to dislike because they won’t admit their sin of disagreement with her ideology.

I didn’t look but I feel certain her commentariat are high-fiving. What else would anyone expect from those that only seek approval and are unable to think for themselves or have a serious discussion on any issue?

To me, this behavior is nothing but bizarre, and yes, as I see it, I will write about it.

2 thoughts on “Obsessive Behavior About Another. A Disorder?

  1. You may justify and rationalize in your mind all you want that your constant monitoring and writing about the behavior of the Usual Suspects is not your own exhibition of obsessive behavior. But it most certainly is. What I see written here is a perfect example of the kind of rationalization and self-justification that psychologist Carol Tavris writes about in her book Mistakes Were Made But Not By Me. If you haven’t already read it, I recommend it to you.

    Like

  2. Thanks for the heads-up. Just sent Harris these two examples:

    * ThinkProgress lies with distorted statistics about institutionalized racism in the US legal & penal system:

    http://trueliberalnexus.wordpress.com/2013/08/01/statistics-race-bating-and-lies/

    * California State Assembly bill (AB 5, 2012), which would have turned state parks into make-shift homeless shelters, while forcing state employees to dispense supplies to any homeless person who demanded them — yet fail to provide the services & support they really need:

    http://trueliberalnexus.wordpress.com/2013/04/29/parks-and-wreck/

    Like

Leave a Reply

