GamerGate: What Are The Real Numbers?

There’s at least one journalist that seems to be behind GamerGate: Milo Yiannopoulos.

I’d never heard of him before GamerGate and he’s now become a star for those that want the truth to be told about him.

He wrote a post today which I think shows what the issues, from his perspective are in the disagreement between the GamerGate supporters and those that do nothing but spout invective and make unsubstantiated allegations against GamerGate.

I have one small dig though in this recent post and it has to do with the numbers of men and women that play video games.

Milo states:

Because hard-core gaming is overwhelmingly male—don’t believe cherry-picked statistics that tell you women now make up 50 per cent of gamers; they don’t, in any meaningful sense—and because those men are often of a stubborn, obsessive, hyper-competitive and systematic bent, it has produced an army finally capable of launching offensives against the censors—using the censors’ own tactics, such as advertiser boycotts, against them.

I’d like to know how he knows that gaming is “overwhelmingly male”? Where does he get his information for that statement?

I recently wrote a post that showed that 48% of gamers were women. Of course, this survey was from the gaming industry and a friend told me after I posted that the gaming industry likes to show that gaming is diverse among the sexes. Okay, I didn’t know that but I was surprised to see that number so high as I would have expected it to be no higher than 40% (in fact, in my post, I said 30-40%).

These were the only statistics I could find for the current year. After my conversation with my friend, I looked to see if their were an independent organization that had better survey data. I couldn’t find any.

So I come back and ask: how does he know this? Would he be able to cite a survey that confirms his statement? What are the real numbers? Is it 10%? how about 20-30%?

After reading his article, I am now really curious. Anecdotally, I see a lot of women on Twitter that are pro-GamerGate. Are they gamers or just supporters? It would be great to have the (unbiased) data.

4 thoughts on “GamerGate: What Are The Real Numbers?

  1. I had heard that, while women comprise nearly half of the gamer population overall, individual genres do skew significantly male or female, e.g. FPS players are mostly male, while mobile game players are mostly women. Unfortunately, I cannot source that right now.

    Like

    • I’m interested because I keep hearing that gaming is “male dominated”. I do know women that play FPS games, but of course there’s no way it could be any sort of a sample.

      Like

Leave a Reply

