Christmas: Just Enoy It

Dear Atheists,

I know many of you disdain this time of year. It is a Christian holiday , at least here in the United States but it doesn’t mean you can’t still celebrate the season. I really cannot understand some of the utter hostility I see on social media.

In the last week, I tweeted out two questions:

  1. Do you play Christmas music in your home?
  2. Do you decorate your home for Christmas?

I didn’t receive many replies but I did notice that there were atheists that played Christmas music in their homes. I wasn’t considering the overtly reglisly themed music, just those tumes like “Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas”, Jingle Bells”, etc. to celebrate the season. There were a few people though that told me they didn’t see a problem with playing religous oriented Chritmas songs.

Most of the same replied that they did decorate their homes for Christmas.

As an atheist, I don’t see the problem playing music or decorating, especially if you have children. For those children, it’s wonderful. I know in my case, the weekend after Thanksgiving, I was out placing lights on the house while my daughter was putting lights in every window inside the house (including the kitchen and laundry room windows!).

For me, this upcoming holiday is about family and friends. I don’t care anymore about the genesis of it being a “Christian” holiday. It’s just a nice time of year in my home. That’s all I care about.

Kiss your kids, and your spouse, and just enjoy the season.

2 thoughts on “Christmas: Just Enoy It

  1. Just enjoy it? I think the point is that some of us don’t enjoy it, and at least for me, this has nothing to do with religion or atheism. I don’t enjoy country music, so I don’t listen to it. I don’t enjoy Christmas music, so I don’t listen to it.

    Like

  2. I’ve always enjoyed Christmas. Especially since I became a father. It maes me really happy to see the smiles I see daily from my daughter . That’s what it is for me. Family. She likes some of the music so I play it from my Echo.

    Like

Leave a Reply

